Posted in Rant

A Letter To My School

Dear you,

Thank you for everything. Thank you for being my home and something I always look forward to. Thank you for moulding me into me. Thank you for supporting me throughout and showing me where I went wrong. Thank you for giving me another family.

You’ve taught me a variety of lessons, most of which can’t be learned from a textbook.You’ve taught me how to shoot for the stars and follow my dreams; how to stand up for what I believe in and be who I am unabashedly; how to lead and take responsibility.

You’ve helped me make so many memories; like those multiple times my friends and I bunked classes, laughed until our stomachs hurt and sneaked food into our mouths when the teacher would turn to face the blackboard. I’ve made the best of friends here and I won’t ever leave them. This place has become a home away from home.

A couple of days ago, we had our tenth grade grad. The ninth graders had put together a wonderful programme and many of us had given moving speeches about you. The chairman also said a few words, out of which one part resounds with me: If you come across anything in life that is too hard to deal with and you’re losing hope, just remember your time here, your happy memories and know that we will always be with you.

I had the choice to stay back or leave and I was going to leave, I honestly was but as the year inched to a close, I realised how hard it would be to leave you. How different my life would be. Comparing other schools to mine, I could only find flaws, nothing could be as good. Even looking objectively, flaws were all I could see. And so, I decided to stay back which is one of the best decisions I have made.

I’ve been here for the past seven years, and I’d just like to say, I love you.

Forever yours,

Ebe.

10 thoughts on “A Letter To My School

  1. Beautifully written! School always leaves a bittersweet aftertaste behind. I relate to this letter on a lot of levels. Ahh, my school days are going to end very soon. I’ll miss it loads.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

